Quidditch questions (QTA)

Amy Z aiz24 at hotmail.com
Sat Mar 24 15:15:02 UTC 2001


No: HPFGUIDX 15081

I was happy to see the question cleared up that was raised here a 
couple of months ago:  only the Seeker can catch, or for that matter 
touch, the Snitch.  So when they played Ravenclaw without Harry, they 
had to designate another player Seeker.  Two rules questions come to 
mind now that I've pored over the rules in QTA:

-How do players know that they're straying towards the boundaries?  It 
must be hard to tell from 60 feet up; suddenly you're called out of 
bounds and lose possession.  The Seeker in particular could cause a 
lot of trouble.
  I think there should be some kind of boundary marker going, say, 100 
feet up (however high players might typically fly), such as a charm 
that makes you tingle if you get within a few feet of the boundary.

-The Snitch is enchanted to avoid capture while staying in bounds.  
Does it have a height limit?  I know the Seeker doesn't, so the Snitch 
shouldn't either, but it seems to me a Snitch could cause a lot of 
trouble by just hanging out in the stratosphere, staying technically 
where the Seeker can find it, but for practical purposes out of reach. 
 Harry seems to stick pretty close to the action, suggesting that the 
Snitch usually does the same.

Amy Z

-------------------------------------------------
 watch this space for QTA/FB quotes now that the
 spoiler-space requirement has been lifted!  
-------------------------------------------------





More information about the HPforGrownups archive