[HPforGrownups] Re: Chess Flint?
Susan Hall
shall at sfiweb.demon.co.uk
Wed May 23 07:35:19 UTC 2001
No: HPFGUIDX 19244
>Ron: "I take one step forward, and she'll take me - "
>
> and then: "He stepped forward and the white queen pounced."
If there was only one legal move that the knight could make at that point,
and the chess board obeyed the ordinary rule that one a player has touched a
piece they have to move it, even if they suddenly realise that they have
made a mistake, the queen would be legally entitled to take Ron the instant
he moved, though it is better etiquette (and psychology) to wait till the
piece actually lands on the disputed square.
Susan
More information about the HPforGrownups
archive