Harry's use of an Unforgivable excused? (was: Who taught Voldemort?)

M.Clifford Aisbelmon at hotmail.com
Mon Jun 13 13:09:06 UTC 2005


No: HPFGUIDX 130599

 
> You know I'm sure this has come up in discusssion before but Harry did  
> use an Unforgivable curse in OoP.  Is he excused because of the  
> context of the spell's use?  Is he excused because he was fighting LV?  
> Does anyone think that he will have to deal with a punishment for this 
> in HBP?  Or is it that the war has started and all rules/bets are off  
> as far as spells/curses are concerned?
> 
> Just curious if there is a thread discussing this.
> 
> Rebecca


Hi Rebecca,
This one has been discussed before but I don't think I have ever
really contributed directly to it. The way I see it Harry can't be
excused for using (read trying to use) the unforgivable Crutiatus. On
the other hand by a stroke of interesting irony I think the point is
that he can be *forgiven* for his mistake, it might be time to change
the name of the curses. LOL

Valky








More information about the HPforGrownups archive