[HPforGrownups] Digest Number 905

Danette Schardt-Cordova captain_debrowe at yahoo.com
Fri May 25 03:14:03 UTC 2001


No: HPFGUIDX 19437


>--- In HPforGrownups at y..., "Susan Hall" <shall at s...>
wrote:
>> >Ron:  "I take one step forward, and she'll take me
- "
>> >
>> > and then: "He stepped forward and the white queen
pounced."
>> 
>> If there was only one legal move that the knight
could make at that 
point,
>> and the chess board obeyed the ordinary rule that
one a player has 
touched a
>> piece they have to move it, even if they suddenly
realise that they 
have
>> made a mistake, the queen would be legally entitled
to take Ron the 
instant
>> he moved, though it is better etiquette (and
psychology) to wait till 
the
>> piece actually lands on the disputed square.

>But how does Ron have only one legal move?  From any
square, a
>knight has at least two moves.

>Robert Carnegie, exposing ignorance
>Glasgow, Scotland


Actually there would be a time whem the knight would
have only one legal move and that's when any other
move would cause the king to be in check.

Danette

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Auctions - buy the things you want at great prices
http://auctions.yahoo.com/




More information about the HPforGrownups archive